

OFFICE OF THE ACADEMIC REGISTRAR

Panbazar, Guwahati, Assam-781001

www.cottonuniversity.ac.in :: email : acadregistrar@cottonuniversity.ac.in

No: CU/Acad/BoS-FAC/2021/186/462 Date: 28/06/2021

NOTIFICATION

Boards of Studies (Section 22 of the First Statutes of Cotton University)

The Boards of Studies, as defined under Section 22 of the First Statutes of Cotton University, of all Faculties of the University have been constituted as follows:

Faculty of Earth Sciences

- 1. Dean of the Faculty (Chairperson & Convener)
- 2. All Heads of Departments under the Faculty (Members)
- 3. All Professors in the Departments of under the Faculty (Members)
- 4. Nominees of Hon'ble VC as members from amongst Associate Professors and Assistant Professors under the Faculty:
 - (i) Dr Satyajit Kataki, Dept of Geology
 - (ii) Dr Ujjal Deka Baruah, Dept of Geography
 - (iii) Dr Amiya Baruah, Dept of Geology
 - (iv) Dr Jyotimala Doley, Dept of Geography
- 5. External members
 - (i) Professor Jyotiranjan S Ray, Director, National Centre for Earth Science Studies, Thiruvananthapuram (Bhatnagar Awardee)
 - (ii) Professor Parag Phukan, Department of Geology, Gauhati University
 - (iii) Dr. Anindita Dutta, Department of Geography, Delhi School of Economics

Faculty of Human & Social Sciences

- 1. Dean of the Faculty (Chairperson & Convener)
- 2. All Heads of Departments under the Faculty (Members)
- 3. All Professors in the Departments of under the Faculty (Members)
- 4. Nominees of Hon'ble VC as members from amongst Associate Professors and Assistant Professors under the Faculty:
 - (i) Dr Jonali Devi, Dept of Anthropology
 - (ii) Dr Padma Sarma, Dept of Economics
 - (iii) Dr Meena Kumari Devi, Dept of Education
 - (iv) Dr Ritu Thaosen, Dept of History
 - (v) Dr Basanti Medhi, Dept of Philosophy

Contd...



OFFICE OF THE ACADEMIC REGISTRAR

Panbazar, Guwahati, Assam-781001

www.cottonuniversity.ac.in :: email : acadregistrar@cottonuniversity.ac.in

- (vi) Dr Dilip Gogoi, Dept of Political Science
- (vii) Dr Rupon Basumatary, Dept of Economics
- (viii) Dr Angita Sarmah Boruah, Dept of Education
- (ix) Dr Dimpy Mahanta, Dept of Psychology
- (x) Dr Indrani Sarma, Dept of Sociology
- (xi) Dr Sayanika Dutta, Dept of Mass Communication & Journalism
- 5. External members
 - (i) Prof Gautam Basu, Formerly in the Dept of International Relations, Jadavpur University
 - (ii) Prof Nilima Bhagawati, Formerly in the Dept of Education, Gauhati University
 - (iii) Prof Madhurjya Prasad Bezbaruah, Dept of Economics, Gauhati University.

Faculty of Language, Linguistics and Literature

- 1. Dean of the Faculty (Chairperson & Convener)
- 2. All Heads of Departments under the Faculty (Members)
- 3. All Professors in the Departments of under the Faculty (Members)
- 4. Nominees of Hon'ble VC as members from amongst Associate Professors and Assistant Professors under the Faculty:
 - (i) Dr Merry Baruah Bora, Dept of English
 - (ii) Dr Aparna Nath, Dept of English
 - (iii) Dr Gnanendra Barman, Dept of Assamese
 - (iv) Dr Ambeswar Gogoi, Dept of Assamese
 - (v) Dr Hemanta Mochahary, Dept of Bodo

5. External members

- (i) Prof Bhim Kanta Boruah, Formerly in Dept of Assamese, Dibrugarh University
- (ii) Prof Ranjit Kumar Dev Goswami, Formerly in the Sankardeva Chair, Tezpur University
- (iii) Prof Subha Chakraborty Dasgupta, Formerly of the Dept of Comparative Literature, Jadavpur University

Faculty of Life Sciences

- 1. Dean of the Faculty (Chairperson & Convener)
- 2. All Heads of Departments under the Faculty (Members)
- 3. All Professors in the Departments of under the Faculty (Members)

Contd...



OFFICE OF THE ACADEMIC REGISTRAR

Panbazar, Guwahati, Assam-781001

www.cottonuniversity.ac.in :: email : acadregistrar@cottonuniversity.ac.in

- 4. Nominees of Hon'ble VC as members from amongst Associate Professors and Assistant Professors under the Faculty:
 - (i) Dr Binoy Kr Deka, Dept of Zoology
 - (ii) Dr Jinu Devi Rajkumari, Dept of Botany
 - (iii) Dr Eeshan Kalita, Dept of MBBT
 - (iv) Dr Narayan Sharma, Dept of EBWS
 - (v) Dr Akalesh Verma, Dept of Zoology
 - (vi) Dr Himu Roy, Dept of Botany
- 5. External members
 - (i) Prof Utpal Bora, Dept of Biosciences & Bioengineering, IIT Guwahati
 - (ii) Prof D K Bhattacharyya, Dept of Computer Science & Engineering, Tezpur University
 - (iii) Prof P K Verma, School of Life Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Faculty of Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences

- 1. Dean of the Faculty (Chairperson & Convener)
- 2. All Heads of Departments under the Faculty (Members)
- 3. All Professors in the Departments of under the Faculty (Members)
- 4. Nominees of Hon'ble VC as members from amongst Associate Professors and Assistant Professors under the Faculty:
 - (i) Dr Rituraj Kalita, Dept of Chemistry
 - (ii) Dr Sudipta Nandy, Dept of Physics
 - (iii) Dr Suravi Deka, Dept of Statistics
 - (iv) Dr Hiren Deka, Dept of Mathematics
 - (v) Dr Anil Hazarika, Dept of Physics
 - (vi) Dr Apurba Barman, Dept of Chemistry
 - (vii) Dr Rupanjali Choudhury, Dept of Mathematics
 - (viii) Dr Himanish Shekhar Das, Dept of Computer Science & IT
- 5. External members
 - (i) Prof Gautam Barua, Director, Indian Institute of Information Technology, Guwahati
 - (ii) Prof Bhaba Kumar Sarma, Dept of Mathematics, IIT Guwahati
 - (iii) Dr Sasanka Deka, Associate Professor, Dept of Chemistry, University of Delhi



OFFICE OF THE ACADEMIC REGISTRAR

Panbazar, Guwahati, Assam-781001

www.cottonuniversity.ac.in :: email : acadregistrar@cottonuniversity.ac.in

Save as otherwise provided and except the Ex-Officio members and the Professors of the Faculty, other members shall hold office for a period of 3 (three) years from the date of this notification.

This notification is issued with approval of the Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, Cotton University.

Academic Registrar

Copy to:

- 1. PS to VC
- 2. PS to Registrar
- 3. All Deans
- 4. All Heads of Departments
- 5. Office File